• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
  • images
  • video
  • press
No upcoming events
Show past dates
Sat 6 October 2018 19:30 Crossing the Line Festival

https://crossingthelinefestival.org/2017/

Fri 5 October 2018 19:30 Crossing the Line Festival

https://crossingthelinefestival.org/2017/

Thu 4 October 2018 19:30 Crossing the Line Festival

https://crossingthelinefestival.org/2017/

Sat 26 August 2017 20:45 Théâtre de Poche & festival BONUS - Hédé

http://theatre-de-poche.com/

Fri 25 August 2017 20:45 Théâtre de Poche & festival BONUS - Hédé

http://theatre-de-poche.com/

Thu 24 August 2017 20:30 Théâtre de Poche & festival BONUS - Hédé

http://theatre-de-poche.com/

Fri 30 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Thu 29 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Wed 28 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Tue 27 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Mon 26 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Sat 24 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Fri 23 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Thu 22 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Wed 21 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Tue 20 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Sat 17 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Fri 16 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Thu 15 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Wed 14 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Tue 13 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Sat 10 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Fri 9 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Thu 8 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Wed 7 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Tue 6 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Sat 3 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Fri 2 June 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

Sat 20 May 2017 20:30 La Scène Watteau

https://www.scenewatteau.fr/

Fri 19 May 2017 20:30 La Scène Watteau

https://www.scenewatteau.fr/

Wed 17 May 2017 20:00 Theatre de Lorient

http://theatredelorient.fr/

Tue 16 May 2017 20:00 Theatre de Lorient

http://theatredelorient.fr/

Mon 15 May 2017 20:00 Theatre de Lorient

http://theatredelorient.fr/

Sat 13 May 2017 19:30 Théâtre du Bois de l'Aune

http://www.aixenprovence.fr/Bois-de-l-Aune

Fri 12 May 2017 20:30 Théâtre du Bois de l'Aune

http://www.aixenprovence.fr/Bois-de-l-Aune

Thu 11 May 2017 19:30 Théâtre du Bois de l'Aune

http://www.aixenprovence.fr/Bois-de-l-Aune

Tue 9 May 2017 20:30 Théâtre de l'Olivier

http://www.scenesetcines.fr/index.php?id=33

Sat 6 May 2017 20:30 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

Fri 5 May 2017 20:30 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

Thu 4 May 2017 20:00 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

Wed 3 May 2017 20:00 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

Tue 2 May 2017 20:00 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

archief

No upcoming events

Serge, Marc and Yvan have been friends for fifteen years. Serge occasionally likes to splash out on modern art. Marc doesn’t. Yvan doesn’t feel strongly either way. Serge buys an all-white painting for 60,000 euros. Marc thinks this is absurd and makes his feelings known.  Caught in the middle, Yvan tries to patch things up but actually makes them worse. The question is: will the friendship survive?

Yasmina Reza (°1959) is a French writer and actor.  Her father was a Jewish-Iranian engineer of Russian descent, her mother a Jewish-Hungarian violinist. ‘Art’, Reza’s most famous play, was premièred in Paris on October 28th 1994 and the next year it won the ‘Molière’ for best playwright and best show in an independent theatre. It has since been translated into thirty-five languages.

‘Art’ is of course first and foremost a brilliant tragicomedy, but the increasingly cynical neoliberal discourse about the relevance of art and culture make it punishingly topical once more.

When is art art? 
How much should it cost? 
Should a country spend money on art? 
Should your hobby be subsidized?

ART teaser

Reza by tg STAN: High “Art” at the Garonne
“Brilliantly staged and performed by the actors of tg STAN and Dood Paard, who, as they have always done and probably always will, place the text at the heart of their creation while freeing it from all the contrivances of the theatre.”
Nicole Clodi, La Dépêche du Midi, 5 May 2017

Art or not art? That is the question
“In reviving this play, acclaimed by the general public, tg STAN perpetuates its defining principle: theatre is not an elitist art. The version of Yasmina Reza’s work it has produced with Dood Paard enhances the value of artists, even while the playwright is lambasting the world of contemporary art.”
Marie Anezin, Ventilo, 10 May 2017

Art
“A successful revival of a memorable nineties theatrical hit, Art displays all its humour, accuracy and depth in this production, which is typical of the work of tg STAN and Dood Paard.”
Eric Demey, La Terrasse newspaper, 29 May 2017

A blank canvas and a friendship in decay
“The performance is a success. The three actors – Kuno Bakker (Serge), Gillis Biesheuvel (Yvan) and Frank Vercruyssen (Marc) – are all tremendous. They appropriate Yasmina Reza’s words with so much intelligence, and turn their foreign accents, which at first glance could have been a handicap, into a real asset.”
Isabel Fauvel, Les Soirées de Paris, 30 May 2017

Art: Not to be missed
“In a little under two hours the trio explodes, overcome by such a jubilant session of cat-fighting that you’re constantly tempted to stand up and applaud.”
Alicia Dorey, Les 5 Pièces, June 2017 selection

The “Art” of the dispute
“With the pairing of tg STAN and Dood Paard, the quarrel between friends created by Yasmina Reza in 1994 takes on an unsuspected existential depth. Two foreign avant-garde theatre companies bring a new shine to a play which has often been considered reactionary in France.”
Anne Diatkine, Libération, 2 June 2017

Yasmina Reza, Belgianised
“In perfect French, the trio makes us laugh while losing none of the caustic tartness of Yasmina Reza’s writing.”
Armelle Héliot, Le Figaro blog, 2 June 2017

“Art”: the value of judgment
“In the end, the two theatre companies become builders of art and life, deserving the greatest credit and the enthusiastic reception they received from the enraptured audience of the Bastille Theatre. They filled us with a burning desire, the feeling that we too could ‘try to rebuild a relationship destroyed by events and by words’, and what better way to achieve that than through Art?”
Sonia Bos-Jucquin, ThéâToile, 4 June 2017

Yasmina Reza’s mythic play gives “Art” a new lease on life
“Three joyous actors deconstruct Yasmina Reza’s most celebrated play to create a light-hearted and irresistible comic sketch. It’s a little gem of fun and creativity.”
Stéphane Capron, Scèneweb, 5 June 2017

A special kind of “art”
“Our dear irresistible Flemish friends like to bend and shape comedies to suit themselves. They have mastered the art of accurate adaptation. Yasmina Reza applauds them loudly before running off backstage to congratulate them, laughing, happy.”
Armelle Héliot, Le Figaro, 6 June 2017

Art (Fifty shades of Belgian)
“The play no longer feels like the precision-made machine that it is; it seems more like a true slice of life, with all its hesitations, breaks and colourful moments ...”
Jean-Luc Porquet, Le canard enchaîné, 6 June 2017

High Art
“Performed in its full glory, with audience participation, the show is a feast for the mind, brimming with a joyous vitality which can’t help but make you feel good.”
Hélène Kuttner, Artistik Rezo, 6 June 2017

"Art", tg STAN & Dood Paard
“Theatre companies tg STAN and Dood Paard succeed in capturing the spirit of the text despite its impressive dimensions. The result is not a complete reappropriation, but rather a surprising hybridisation; a transplant, strange yet functional, of the flamboyant language of Yasmina Reza into the explosive and generous bodies of the Flemish actors.”
Nicolas Garnier, Ma Culture, 7 June 2017

ART, by Yasmina Reza, a tg STAN and Dood Paard production at the Bastille Theatre
“As always, what really matters to tg STAN and Dood Paard is the complexity of human relations, the contradictions and fragilities in our relationships, even ones of friendship. This blank canvas subjects contemporary art to a close examination, but it’s also a mask. In summarily excising all bourgeois references from the play, in haughtily denouncing vaudeville, the play and its mechanics are laid bare; all that’s left is the text and its raw words. Acerbic language and power struggles. It’s the hallmark of both of these companies that they strip down whatever stock play they’re tackling and purge it of all context, leaving only the pure nectar which they turn into honey. They create a living substance, moving and malleable, which they shape before our very eyes. The result is hilarious, and the knowing, smirking acting, even the conflict between the actors that sits at the heart of the process, is a big part of that. This unique approach gives the impression that they are not acting but improvising the text and the stage design as the performance unfolds; nevertheless, they are faithful to their score, which they dissect meticulously and with greedy pleasure, not hesitating to take a step back and condemn the theatrics, to chastise the spectators who have become helpless, giggling witnesses to an epic quarrel, pure and unvarnished, stripped of all irrelevancies. It’s high art, and it’s exhilarating.”
Denis Sanglard, Un Fauteuil Pour l'Orchestre, 7 June 2017

Have you seen Yasmina Reza’s “Art”?
“Yasmina Reza reminds us that she agreed to let people to fiddle around with her texts. She has no cause to regret it: her play has taken on a new resonance, found a new modernity and encountered a different audience, who gave the show a triumphant reception on opening night.”
Monique Le Roux, En attendant Nadeau, 7 June 2017

A critique of snobbery and speculation in contemporary art by the theatre companies tg STAN & Dood Paard
“The production basks in an atmosphere reminiscent of a workshop, a garage, a squatter’s pad perhaps, where an alternative conformity is taking shape. The actors are at ease, speaking directly to the audience in a natural manner. The play floats along, giving you a feeling of improvisation though all of the effects are perfectly controlled. The Flemish accents are heavily emphasised: they are irresistible in French. The characters are exaggerated, sharply defined, pushed to the extremes of their inner folly. In its own understated way, the production finds the best of vaudeville and the art of the farce. The text is refocused with great intelligence on the relationships between the characters. “Art” is thus transformed into the story of an old friendship which explodes.”
Jean Grapin, La revue du spectacle, 7 June 2017

Yasmina Reza’s Art
“The stage, which is both cluttered and stripped bare (it is, after all, the sole location for theatrical work) is thus akin to a workshop: an artist’s studio, or even a drama workshop. It is precisely this convergence between the theme of the play and its stage design that seems to make the most sophisticated contribution to this production.”
Yvon Le Scanff, Études, 10 June 2017

Yasmina Reza, or a foreign language
“In this play, which speaks about the difficulty of talking honestly with one another, their effort, their accent, the strangeness of certain intonations, all of it makes sense. A sense that is all the more devastating because the STAN players have a unique talent for acting as if they aren’t acting: their work as actors is symbolised by impulse, drive, the obvious. The collusion between their physical, almost animal spontaneity and the effort of holding their own in a language that is not their mother tongue develops into a metaphor for theatre in general: a space where words are both vital and terribly difficult.”
Coup de théâtre, 14 June 2017

Yasmina Reza’s “Art” given a new coat of paint by Belgian rebels
“The play is a beautiful but diabolical machine. And it’s through their acting alone that they extract its essence: when you get beyond the sophisticated variation on contemporary art (which, against all expectations, “wins” in the end), existential vaudeville becomes a black comedy on human solitude and egotism. The audience laughs a great deal, but it is increasingly hollow laughter, faced with the ruins of a friendship that is broken, then pieced back together on a throw of the dice – with the picture of a stage transformed into a storeroom-cum-installation. With their unrestrained commitment, tg STAN and Dood Paard don’t just turn “Art” on its head, they reinvent it, and thereby do it justice.”
Philippe Chevilley, Les Echos, 19 June 2017

Yasmina Reza’s “Art”
“Excellent; the actors reinvent the play and enhance its good qualities. Through them, the characters leave behind their middle-class garb and gain access to a touching humanity.”
Corinne Denailles, WebThéâtre, 19 June 2017

An iconoclastic revolution in the Art of theatrical performance
“You would have expected impressive speeches or caricatures of discussions on Art and the market. There is none of that in this play, masterfully paced and with insane amounts of audience interaction. It shines a spotlight on the flaws of each character and the attempts to keep a semblance of self-esteem and dignity while having an amazing amount of fun in this circus where everyone is a clown to someone else.”
La Fleur du Dimanche, 19 June 2017

tg STAN and Dood Paard give new lustre to Yasmina Reza’s ‘Art’
“Performed by the theatre companies tg STAN and Dood Paard, Yasmina Reza’s ‘Art’ is much more than just a reflection on contemporary art: it’s a proud moment for theatre, a play that is as funny as it is philosophical.”
Anaïs Heluin, Time Out, 22 June 2017

Art: Friendship deconstructed
“In the role of Marc, Frank Vercruyssen is as gruff as you could wish, while Kuno Bakker’s Serge is more flamboyant and Gillis Biesheuvel’s Yvan is trying to find himself. The line between the characters and the actors themselves is tenuous. Say goodbye to the fourth wall. The actors speak directly to the spectators; they are both completely in character and in a kind of permanent dialogue with the audience (...). The connection with the audience is constant. When Yvan is looking for the cap of his pen he asks the spectators about it, the actors make references to the performance itself and ask questions in the most natural manner, without going overboard. All three of them are absolutely extraordinary, at once funny and dramatic.”
L'étoffe des Songes, 25 June 2017

Flemish Art
“It’s pure pleasure to rediscover this play through a new production. The company gives it a farcical accent which is not unpleasant. In reality, it accentuates that aspect of the characters; it is no longer Serge, the eccentric buyer of the mysterious painting, who is strange; now it’s Marc, the accomplished misanthrope, who stirs our sympathy. Their energy, their fantasies and their tall stories carry the play to its limits: emerging from the agreed realism of Patrice Kerbrat’s production, I found myself constantly swinging between belly laughs and hollow laughter, because of how much the absurdity of the situation and the loneliness of the characters stand out; sometimes brutally so.”
Mordue de Théâtre, 25 June 2017

Yasmina Reza’s Art
“The three partners in crime – Kuno Bakker, Gillis Biesheuvel and Frank Vercruyssen – are dazzling; without a single minute’s respite, they have a way of making all the subtleties of the text come alive without neglecting the dissonances, the breaks and pauses. Yvan’s long speech relating his problems with his mother, his stepmother and his fiancée is magnificent.”
François Ménager, Petites Affiches La Loi, 27 June 2017

text Yasmina Reza 
by and with Kuno Bakker, Gillis Biesheuvel and Frank Vercruyssen
coproduction STAN & Dood Paard 
lighting design Julian Maywald 
production STAN & Dood Paard
premiere May 2nd 2017, Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse

• info
  • réalisation
  • calendrier
  • photos
  • vidéo
  • presse
jeu 4 octobre 2018 19:30
New York
ven 5 octobre 2018 19:30
New York
sam 6 octobre 2018 19:30
New York
Afficher les dates de représentations passées
sam 26 août 2017 20:45 Théâtre de Poche & festival BONUS - Hédé

http://theatre-de-poche.com/

ven 25 août 2017 20:45 Théâtre de Poche & festival BONUS - Hédé

http://theatre-de-poche.com/

jeu 24 août 2017 20:30 Théâtre de Poche & festival BONUS - Hédé

http://theatre-de-poche.com/

ven 30 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

jeu 29 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mer 28 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mar 27 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

lun 26 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

sam 24 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

ven 23 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

jeu 22 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mer 21 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mar 20 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

sam 17 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

ven 16 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

jeu 15 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mer 14 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mar 13 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

sam 10 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

ven 9 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

jeu 8 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mer 7 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

mar 6 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

sam 3 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

ven 2 juin 2017 20:00 Théâtre de la Bastille

http://www.theatre-bastille.com/

sam 20 mai 2017 20:30 La Scène Watteau

https://www.scenewatteau.fr/

ven 19 mai 2017 20:30 La Scène Watteau

https://www.scenewatteau.fr/

mer 17 mai 2017 20:00 Theatre de Lorient

http://theatredelorient.fr/

mar 16 mai 2017 20:00 Theatre de Lorient

http://theatredelorient.fr/

lun 15 mai 2017 20:00 Theatre de Lorient

http://theatredelorient.fr/

sam 13 mai 2017 19:30 Théâtre du Bois de l'Aune

http://www.aixenprovence.fr/Bois-de-l-Aune

ven 12 mai 2017 20:30 Théâtre du Bois de l'Aune

http://www.aixenprovence.fr/Bois-de-l-Aune

jeu 11 mai 2017 19:30 Théâtre du Bois de l'Aune

http://www.aixenprovence.fr/Bois-de-l-Aune

mar 9 mai 2017 20:30 Théâtre de l'Olivier

http://www.scenesetcines.fr/index.php?id=33

sam 6 mai 2017 20:30 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

ven 5 mai 2017 20:30 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

jeu 4 mai 2017 20:00 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

mer 3 mai 2017 20:00 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

mar 2 mai 2017 20:00 Théâtre Garonne

http://www.theatregaronne.com/

archief

Pas de performances

Voilà quinze ans que Serge, Marc et Yvan sont amis. Serge aime mettre de l'argent dans des œuvres d'art moderne, Marc pas du tout. Yvan ne sait pas trop. Serge achète un tableau entièrement blanc pour 60 000 euros. Marc pense que c'est ridicule et ne s'en cache pas. Yvan est pris entre deux feux, tente de recoller les morceaux et fait lui-même quelques dégâts. L'amitié y survivra-t-elle ?

Yasmina Reza, née en 1959, est une auteur et actrice française. Son père était un ingénieur juif iranien d'origine russe et sa mère une violoniste juive hongroise. « Art », sa pièce la plus célèbre, a été créée à Paris le 28 octobre 1994 et a remporté en 1995 le Molière de l'auteur francophone vivant et le Molière du théâtre privé. Depuis, la pièce a été traduite en trente-cinq langues.

« Art » est évidemment avant tout une brillante tragicomédie, mais en raison du discours néolibéral en vogue sur l'utilité de l'art et de la culture, de plus en plus cynique, le texte reste d'une inquiétante actualité.

Quand l'art est-il de l'art ? 
Combien l'art peut-il coûter ? 
Est-il utile qu'un pays consacre de l'argent à l'art ? 
Votre passe-temps favori doit-il être subventionné ?

ART_tg STAN

ART teaser

Reza par Tg STAN, c'est du grand "Art" au Garonne
"Génialement mise en scène et interprétée par les comédiens de Tg Stan et Dood Park, qui, comme c'est leur marque de fabrique, mettent encore et toujours, en le libérant de tous les artifices du théâtre, le texte, au cœur de leur création."
Nicole Clodi, La Dépêche du Midi, 5 mai 2017

Art or not art: that is the question
"En reprenant cette pièce plébiscitée par le grand public, le Tg STAN pérennise l’idée qui les définit : le théâtre n’est pas un art élitaire. Et la version qu’ils donnent de l’œuvre de Yasmina Reza avec Dood Paard revalorise les artistes, là où l’auteure fustigeait le monde de l’art contemporain."

Marie Anezin, Ventilo, 10 mai 2017

Art
"Reprise réussie d’un succès mémorable du théâtre des années 90, Art démontre sa drôlerie, sa justesse et sa profondeur dans cette mise en scène caractéristique de tg Stan et Dood Paard."
Eric Demey, Journal La Terrasse, 29 mai 2017

Un tableau blanc et une amitié en déliquescence
"Le spectacle est une réussite. Les acteurs Kuno Bakker (Serge), Gillis Biesheuvel (Yvan) et Frank Vercruyssen (Marc) sont tous trois prodigieux. Ils s’approprient les mots de Yasmina Reza avec beaucoup d’intelligence et font de leur accent étranger, qui pourrait passer au premier abord pour un handicap, un véritable atout."
Isabel Fauvel, Les Soirées de Paris, 30 mai 2017

Art: à ne pas manquer
"En un peu moins de deux heures, le trio explose, terrassé par une séance de crêpage de chignon tellement jubilatoire qu'on serait tenté de se lever pour applaudir à tout bout de champ."
Alicia Dorey, Les 5 Pièces, selection juin 2017

L'"Art" de la dispute
"Grâce au tandem Tg Stan et Dood Paard, la querelle entre amis créée en 1994 par Yasmina Reza se charge d’une profondeur existentielle insoupçonnée. Ou comment deux collectifs d’avant-garde étrangers subliment une pièce parfois jugée réactionnaire en France."
Anne Diatkine, Libération, 2 juin 2017

Yasmina Reza, méthode flamande
"Dans une maîtrise parfaite du français, le trio nous fait rire et ne perd rien de l'acidité corrosive de l'écriture de Yasmina Reza.

"
Armelle Héliot, Le Figaro blog, 2 juin 2017

"Art": la valeur du jugement
"Au final, les deux collectifs se posent en bâtisseurs d’art et de vie méritant notre plus grande reconnaissance et l’accueil chaleureux qui leur a été témoigné par le public, conquis, du Théâtre de la Bastille. Ils ont su nous insuffler l’envie folle de nous aussi prendre la décision « d’essayer de reconstruire une relation anéantie par les événements et les mots » et quoi de mieux que l’Art pour y parvenir ?"
Sonia Bos-Jucquin, ThéâToile, 4 juin 2017

Une nouvelle jeunesse pour "Art", la pièce mythique de Yasmina Reza
"Trois joyeux comédiens déstructurent la pièce la plus célèbre de Yasmina Reza pour en faire une joyeuse pochade burlesque irrésistible. C’est un petit bijou de drôlerie et d’inventivité."
Stéphane Capron, Scèneweb, 5 juin 2017

Un "art" à part
"Nos chers et irrésistibles Flamands accommodent la comédie à leur manière. Ils ont l'art d'être fidèles. Yasmina Reza les applaudit beaucoup avant de filer en coulisses les féliciter, rieuse, heureuse."
Armelle Héliot, Le Figaro, 6 juin 2017

Art (Cinquante nuances de belge)
"La piece ne ressemble plus a une mecanique de haute precision (ce qu'elle est), maîs a un vrai morceau de vie, avec ses flottements, ses échappées, ses moments qui truculent..."
Jean-Luc Porquet, Le canard enchaîné, 6 juin 2017

Du grand Art
"En phase totale avec le public qui participe, le spectacle est un régal d’intelligence et de joyeuse vitalité qui fait du bien."
Hélène Kuttner, Artistik Rezo, 6 juin 2017

"Art", tg STAN & Dood Paard
" La compagnie tg STAN et Dood Paard réussissent à s’emparer du texte malgré sa forme impressionnante. Le résultat n’est pas une réappropriation complète mais plutôt une hybridation étonnante, un greffon, étrange mais fonctionnel, de la langue flamboyante de Yasmina Reza sur les corps explosifs et généreux des comédiens flamands."
Nicolas Garnier, Ma Culture, 7 juin 2017

Ce tableau blanc qui en fait voir de toutes les couleurs
" "Art", la pièce de Yasmina Reza, débarque au Théâtre de la Bastille, dans un spectacle signé des Flamands de TG Stan & Dood Paard. Explosif."
Jack Dion, Marianne, 7 juin 2017

ART, de Yasmina Reza, mise en scène tg STAN et Dood Paard au Théâtre de la Bastille
"Et ce qui encore une fois importe chez tg STAN et Dood Parts c’est la complexité des relations humaines, les contradictions et les fragilités dans nos rapports, fussent-ils d’amitié. Ce tableau blanc interroge l’art contemporain, mais c’est également un faux-nez. En débarrassant sèchement la pièce de toute référence bourgeoise, en accusant crânement le vaudeville, la pièce et sa mécanique sont mises à nue, il ne reste que le texte et son propos à vif. La langue acide et les enjeux de pouvoir. C’est le propre de ces deux compagnies de décrasser le répertoire auquel il s’attaque, l’expurger de tout contexte, pour n’en garder que le suc dont ils font leur miel. En faire une matière vivante, mouvante, malléable, se façonnant sous nos yeux. Tout cela est fort drôle et le jeu complice et narquois des acteurs, voire leur dissension, au centre même du processus, y participe pour beaucoup. Avec cette façon unique, cette impression qu’ils ne jouent pas mais improvisent le texte et la scénographie au fil de la représentation, fidèle pourtant à leur partition qu’ils décortiquent avec minutie et gourmandise, n’hésitant pas non plus à s’en détacher pour dénoncer la théâtralité, à apostropher les spectateurs devenus témoins impuissants et hilares d’une dispute homérique, incarnée sans fard, débarrassée de tous superflus. Du grand art et c’est sacrement jubilatoire."
Denis Sanglard, Un Fauteuil Pour l'Orchestre, 7 juin 2017

Avez-vous vu "Art" par Yasmina Reza?
"Yasmina Reza rappelle son accord exceptionnel donné pour des « interventions dans le corps du texte ». Elle n’a pas à le regretter, tant sa pièce prend une autre résonance, trouve une nouvelle modernité, rencontre un public différent qui, le soir de la première, a fait un accueil triomphal au spectacle."
Monique Le Roux, En attendant Nadeau, 7 juin 2017

Une critique sur le snobisme et la spéculation dans l'art contemporain par le collectif tg STAN & Dood Paard
"La mise en scène baigne dans une atmosphère d'atelier, de garage, de squatt peut-être où se dessine tout un conformisme alternatif. Les comédiens mettent à l'aise et interpellent en tout naturel le public. Il flotte en l'air comme une atmosphère de bricolé alors que tous les effets sont parfaitement maîtrisés. Les accents flamands sont sur-articulés : ils sont irrésistibles en français. Les caractères sont outrés, tranchés, poussés à l'extrême de leur folie intime. Le collectif trouve mine de rien le meilleur du vaudeville et de l'art clownesque.  Le texte est très intelligemment recentré sur les rapports entre les personnages. "Art" devient ainsi le récit d'une vieille amitié qui explose."
Jean Grapin, La revue du spectacle, 7 juin 2017

Frank Vercruyssen : « Art est une comédie succulente et touchante »
I
nterview, Scèneweb, 9 juin 2017

Art de Yasmina Reza
" La scène à la fois dépouillée mais encombrée (elle est le lieu unique du travail théâtral) s’apparente dès lors à un atelier : un atelier d’artiste, ou même un atelier théâtral. C’est précisément la convergence entre le thème de la pièce et sa scénographie qui semble être l’apport le plus subtile de cette mise en scène."
Yvon Le Scanff, Études, 10 juin 2017

"Art" renové d'un coupe de peinture
Fabienne Darge, Le Monde, 11 juin 2017

Tg STAN et Dood Paard décapent l'Art de Yasmina Reza
Sophie Joubert, L'Humanité, 12 juin 2017

Yasmina Reza ou la langue étrangère
"(D)ans cette pièce-là, qui parle de la difficulté à se parler vraiment, leur effort, leur accent, l’étrangeté de certaines intonations, tout prend sens. Un sens d’autant plus ravageur que les Stan ont un talent unique pour jouer comme s’ils ne jouaient pas : pour inscrire leur travail d’acteur sous le signe de l’élan, de la pulsion, de l’évidence. La collusion entre leur spontanéité physique, presque animale, et l’effort de tenir bon sur une langue qui n’est pas leur première langue prend ainsi l’ampleur d’une métaphore du théâtre tout entier : un espace où la parole est une chose à la fois vitale et terriblement difficile."
Coup de théâtre, 14 juin 2017

"Art" avec la manière
Sylvain Merle, Le Parisien, 17 juin 2017

"Art" de Yasmina Reza redoré par des frondeurs belges
"La pièce est une belle machine infernale. Et c'est par leur jeu seul qu'ils en extraient la substantifique moelle : au-delà de la variation subtile sur l'art contemporain (qui contre toute attente « gagne » à la fin), le vaudeville existentiel devient comédie noire sur la solitude et l'égoïsme humains. La salle rit beaucoup, mais de plus en plus jaune, face au champ de ruines de l'amitié brisée, puis recollée sur un coup de dés - à l'image du plateau transformé en débarras/installation. Grâce à leur parti pris débridé, tg STAN & Dood Paard font mieux que chambouler « Art », ils le réinventent et ainsi lui rendent justice."
Philippe Chevilley, Les Echos, 19 juin 2017

"Art' de Yasmina Reza
"Excellents, les comédiens réinventent la pièce dont ils rehaussent les qualités. Avec eux, les personnages quittent leurs costumes bourgeois et accèdent à une humanité touchante."
Corinne Denailles, WebThéâtre, 19 juin 2017

Une révolution iconoclaste dans l’Art de la représentation (théâtrale)
"On pourrait s’attendre à de grands discours ou à des caricatures d’échanges sur l’Art et le marché. Il n’en est rien, la pièce, magistralement rythmée et follement interactive avec le public nous fait toucher du doigt les failles de chacun et les essais pour garder à la fois un semblant d’amour-propre et de dignité tout en nous amusant follement de ce cirque dans lequel chacun est le clown de l’autre."
La Fleur du Dimanche, 19 juin 2017

De l'art ou du carton
Les inrockuptibles, 21 juin 2017

"Art"
Bertrand Raison, Revue des deux mondes, 21 juin 2017

Quand les collectifs tg STAN et Dood Paard subliment 'Art' de Yasmina Reza
"Interprété par les collectifs tg STAN et Dood Paard, 'Art' de Yasmina Reza est bien plus qu’une réflexion sur l’art contemporain : c'est un grand moment de théâtre, aussi drôle que philosophique."
Anaïs Heluin, Time Out, 22 juin 2017

"Art": des Flamands à l'oeuvre
Le Jdd, 22 juin 2017

Art: Amitié déstructurée
"Dans le rôle de Marc, Frank Vercruyssen est bourru à souhait, tandis que le Serge de Kuno Bakker se fait plus ostentatoire et que l’Yvan de Gillis Biesheuvel se cherche. La frontière entre les personnages et les acteurs eux-mêmes est ténue. Exit le quatrième mur. Les comédiens interpellent le public, sont dans leur rôle et dans un dialogue permanent avec la salle (...). Le lien avec le public est constant. Yvan cherche son capuchon de feutre, interpelle les spectateurs, les acteurs font référence au spectacle lui-même, posent des questions le plus naturellement du monde, sans aucun excès. Ils sont tous trois absolument extraordinaires, drôles et dramatiques à la fois. "
L'étoffe des Songes, 25 juin 2017

Art flamand
"(C)'est un pur plaisir de la redécouvrir dans une nouvelle mise en scène. La troupe donne un accent clownesque qui n’est pas pour déplaire. En réalité, en accentuant cet aspect-là des personnages, ce n’est plus Serge, l’acheteur farfelu du tableau mystérieux, qui est étrange, mais bien plutôt Marc, ce misanthrope accompli, qui fait appel à notre pitié. Leur énergie, leurs fantaisies, et leurs galéjades portent la pièce à ses extrémités : sortant du réalisme convenu de la mise en scène de Patrice Kerbrat, je me suis retrouvée à osciller constamment entre franche rigolade et rire jaune, tant l’absurdité de la situation et la solitude des personnages ressort, parfois avec brutalité."
Mordue de Théâtre, 25 juin 2017

L'Art de Yasmina Reza
"Les trois compères: Kuno Bakker, Gillis Biesheuvel et Frank Vercruyssen sont éblouissants, pas une minute de répit, une manière de faire vivre le texte dans toute sa subtilité en respectant les dissonances, les ruptures, les pauses. La longue tirade d'Yvan racontant ses démêlés avec sa mère, sa belle-mère et sa fiancée est somptueux."
François Ménager, Petites Affiches La Loi, 27 juin 2017

Les Flamands de tg STAN, fans de Yasmina Reza
"Il a fallu convaincre l'auteur de leur céder les droits. Reza est exigeante et sélective. Mais elle connaît et apprécie le travail de tg Stan. Elle donne son accord et vient voir leur mise en scène à La Haye, en néerlandais, accompagnée par l'ambassadeur de France. « Elle était bouleversée et très contente, se souvient Frank Vercruyssen. On garde l'intégrité du texte, mais on y ajoute une mise en abyme, du jeu sur le jeu. Entre nous, les comédiens, on s'amuse à se tacler pas mal sur scène. La seule liberté qui ne lui a pas plu, c'est qu'on interrompe le monologue d'Yvan. On a arrêté de le faire et elle avait raison. » "
Frank Vercruyssen parle avec Etienne Sorin, Le Figaro, 30 janvier 2018

 

 

texte Yasmina Reza 
de et avec Kuno Bakker, Gillis Biesheuvel et Frank Vercruyssen

lumière et son Julian Maiwald 
costumes An D'Huys 
production STAN et Dood Paard

première le 2 mai 2017, Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse