• info
  • credits
  • upcoming
  • images
  • video
  • press
Tue 12 December 2017 20:15
Wed 13 December 2017 20:15
Thu 14 December 2017 20:15
Fri 15 December 2017 20:15
Sat 16 December 2017 20:15
Tue 19 December 2017 20:00
Wed 20 December 2017 20:00
Thu 21 December 2017 20:00
Fri 22 December 2017 20:00
Show past dates
Sat 9 December 2017 20:30 Toneelschuur, Haarlem

http://www.toneelschuur.nl/

Fri 8 December 2017 20:30 Toneelschuur, Haarlem

http://www.toneelschuur.nl/

Thu 7 December 2017 20:30 CC Diest

http://www.ccdiest.be

Wed 6 December 2017 20:00 CC De Grote Post, Oostende

http://www.degrotepost.be

Mon 4 December 2017 20:30 Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam

https://stadsschouwburgamsterdam.nl/

Fri 1 December 2017 20:00 Cultuurcentrum Brugge

http://www.cultuurcentrumbrugge.be

Thu 30 November 2017 20:15 C-mine, Genk

http://www.c-minecultuurcentrum.be

Wed 29 November 2017 20:15 De Warande, Turnhout

http://www.warande.be

Sun 26 November 2017 15:00 Kaaitheater, Brussel

https://www.kaaitheater.be

Sat 25 November 2017 20:30 Kaaitheater, Brussel

https://www.kaaitheater.be

Fri 24 November 2017 20:30 Kaaitheater, Brussel

https://www.kaaitheater.be

Wed 22 November 2017 20:30 Stad Tongeren – de VELINX

http://www.develinx.be

Tue 21 November 2017 20:00 30 CC, Leuven

http://www.30cc.be

Sat 18 November 2017 20:00 NTGent

https://www.ntgent.be

Fri 17 November 2017 20:00 NTGent

https://www.ntgent.be

Thu 16 November 2017 20:00 NTGent

https://www.ntgent.be

Wed 15 November 2017 20:00 NTGent

https://www.ntgent.be

Tue 14 November 2017 20:00 NTGent

https://www.ntgent.be

Sun 12 November 2017 15:00 Toneelhuis, Antwerpen

https://toneelhuis.be

Sat 11 November 2017 20:00 Toneelhuis, Antwerpen

https://toneelhuis.be

Fri 10 November 2017 20:00 Toneelhuis, Antwerpen

https://toneelhuis.be

Thu 9 November 2017 20:00 Toneelhuis, Antwerpen

https://toneelhuis.be

archief

No upcoming events

A large cast is behind STAN’S new production entitled Poquelin II, coproduced by Toneelhuis/Olympique Dramatique, NTGent, Dood Paard and ARSENAAL/LAZARUS. Kuno Bakker, Els Dottermans, Willy Thomas, Stijn Van Opstal, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Damiaan De Schrijver and Frank Vercruyssen will be working together on Molière’s oeuvre.

In 2003 STAN made Poquelin, a production based on a number of Molière’s plays, including ‘Médecin malgré lui’, ‘Sganarelle’ and ‘Le Malade Imaginaire’. Dutch and French versions of the production toured widely. Poquelin was a milestone in STAN’S repertoire.

“I want to deal with the absurdities of human nature and represent the shortcomings of the world in an agreeable manner on stage”, said Molière, and for STAN that was reason enough to take another look at his work.   

Plays which have definitely made it onto the programme are: 'Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme' (1670), in which Molière makes fun of a wealthy gentleman who tries to copy the behaviour and lifestyle of the aristocracy, and 'L’Avare' (The Miser, 1668), a tragicomedy about parsimony, the perverted exercise of power, avarice, the generation conflict, truth and lies, which is packed with the sort of absurd financial and moral deals which bombard us all.

Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN

Poquelin II trailer

“Stan transports us to the boisterous theatre of the 17th century, where actors didn’t think twice about overdoing things here or there, to the great delight of the audience,” according to Pieter T'Jonck in De Morgen**** 14/11

Het Nieuwsblad****: “But it’s mainly the actors who make a good play out of Poquelin II. We might actually love Van Opstal and Co. Because of the rhythm they put in their words. Because of the incredible talent they have. And those whom we love can easily convince us. Molière already knew that 300 years ago.” 

“The jokes and worldly wisdom are rattled off at you like a rifle salvo for 2 ½ hours by a formidable cast – the joy of performing bursts from the small stage. Go see for yourself,” concludes Koen Van Boxem in De Tijd 14/11

“Through the use of incredibly speedy rhythm, sharp humour and the perspective afforded by the medium of theatre, and by extension the arts, they succeed in giving us 2 ½ hours’ worth of top-notch theatre with Poquelin II.” – Bert Hertogs, Concertnews****1/2, 13/11/2017

De Standaard****: “Courtships, Scrooges, dressing up in costumes: Poquelin II presents Molière as an old-fashioned side splitter.”

text  Molière (incl. ‘L’avare’ and ‘Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme’)
by and with Kuno Bakker, Els Dottermans, Willy Thomas, Stijn Van Opstal, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Damiaan De Schrijver and Frank Vercruyssen 
lighting design Thomas Walgrave
costumes Inge Büscher
production and decor tg STAN
coproduction Toneelhuis/Olympique Dramatique, NTGent, Dood Paard and ARSENAAL/LAZARUS

Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN
Poquelin II tg STAN